Updated 08/25/2012 02:36 PM
Fair offers vegetarian and vegan alternatives
To view our videos, you need to
install Adobe Flash 9 or above. Install now.
Then come back here and refresh the page.
NEW YORK STATE FAIR -- Amid the chocolate covered bacon, donut burgers and everything in between, it can be more than a challenge to find healthy foods at the fair. But an even greater feat is finding vegetarian and vegan-friendly options. Vegetarians don't eat meat. And vegans don't eat any animals products, such as butter, eggs or milk.
"I bet it's really hard to find vegan options. Maybe a good beer is a good vegan option. But if you search far and wide and search hard enough, I'm sure you can find some vegan options here at the fair," said Bruce Krupke, Dairy Products Building Task Force Chairman.
"If you look hard enough at the fair, you're going to find what you want," said Roasted Corn employee Schantele Brantley.
And we did find several stands that have fruits, smoothies and vegetables that are vegan friendly, including corn stands throughout the fair and La Cuisine in the International Building.
Brantley said, "Corn is probably the most vegetarian you can get. We ask people if they want butter on it and most people say no because it's just that sweet."
"It's just another thing the fair has to offer. There's completely different things in this building. But I think we're just one more important thing that's pretty necessary for the fair," said La Cuisine employee Miriam Ghabarou.
And the dairy building is probably a place most vegans avoid, but there are even vegan-friendly options here, including some fruit-based gelatos.
Krupke said, "If you're looking for a non-animal based product, some gelato flavors are non-dairy. So you could look at some mango, wild berry, possible orange flavored gelato that are non-dairy options."
So for you vegan and vegetarians don't fill up too much before you come to the fair, you may find something right here that suits your taste buds.